Review: A Tapestry of Tears, by Gita V. Reddy

A Tapestry of Tears, by Gita V. Reddy

A Tapestry of Tears by Gita V. Reddy
Published by Gita V. Reddy on November 2, 2016
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, short stories
Format & Pages: e-book, 204
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at Amazon

Set in the early nineteenth century, A Tapestry of Tears is about female infanticide, and the unmaking of tradition. If a woman gives birth to a female child, she must feed her the noxious sap of the akk plant. That is the tradition, parampara. Veeranwali rebels, and fights to save her offspring.
The other stories span a spectrum of emotions and also bring to life the varied culture and social spectrum of India. Woven into this collection is the past and the present, despair and hope, and the triumph of the human spirit.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Zaria Fierce and the Secret of the Gloomwood Forest, by Keira Gillett

Zaria Fierce and the Secret of Gloomwood Forest, by Keira Gillett

Zaria Fierce and the Secret of the Gloomwood Forest by Keira Gillett
Published by Keira Gillett on March 6, 2015
Series: Zaria Fierce, #1
Genre(s): fiction, adventure, fantasy, middle grade
Format & Pages: e-book, 208
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

“Come here Princess, and let me eat you.”

On her birthday, Zaria Fierce finds her usual path to school blocked by an ugly river-troll. At first she’s surprised and curious, but then Olaf threatens to eat her, which is an act Zaria could not in good conscience consent to, so Zaria counteroffers. A deal is struck and she goes to school, but Zaria is about to learn the hard way that one does not trick a river-troll and expect to win.

Continue reading

Review: The Liar’s Girl, by Catherine Ryan Howard

The Liar's Girl, by Catherine Ryan Howard

The Liar’s Girl by Catherine Ryan Howard
Published by Blackstone Publishing on February 27, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, crime, mystery, suspense
Format & Pages: e-book, 336
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

Will Hurley was an attractive, charming, and impressive student at Dublin’s elite St. John’s College-and Ireland’s most prolific serial killer. Having stalked his four young victims, he drowned them in the muddy waters of the Grand Canal. Sentenced to life imprisonment when he was just nineteen, Will is locked away in the city’s Central Psychiatric Hospital.

Freshman Alison Smith moved to the Big Smoke to enrol in St. John’s and soon fell hard for Will Hurley. Her world bloomed … and then imploded when Liz, her best friend, became the latest victim of the Canal Killer-and the Canal Killer turned out to be the boy who’d been sleeping in her bed. Alison fled to the Netherlands and, in ten years, has never once looked back.

When a young woman’s body is found in the Grand Canal, Garda detectives visit Will to see if he can assist them in solving what looks like a copycat killing. Instead, Will tells them he has something new to confess-but there’s only one person he’s prepared to confess it to. The last thing Alison wants is to be pulled back into the past she’s worked so hard to leave behind. Reluctantly, she returns to the city she hasn’t set foot in for more than a decade to face the man who murdered the woman she was supposed to become.

Only to discover that, until now, Will has left out the worst part of all …

Continue reading

Review: Sirens, by Joseph Knox

Sirens, by Joseph Knox

Sirens by Joseph Knox
Published by Crown Publishing Group on February 20, 2018 (expected)
Series: An Aidan Waits Thriller, #1
Genre(s): fiction, crime, mystery, thriller
Format & Pages: e-book, 344
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

“Razor-sharp urban noir…very special indeed.” — Lee Child

The breathtakingly propulsive and stunningly assured debut thriller, perfect for readers of Tana French, Don Winslow and Dennis Lehane

The mission is suicide.

Infiltrating the inner circle of enigmatic criminal Zain Carver is dangerous enough. Pulling it off while also rescuing Isabelle Rossiter, a runaway politician’s daughter, from Zain’s influence? Impossible. That’s why Aidan Waits is the perfect man for the job. Disgraced, emotionally damaged, and despised by his superiors. In other words, completely expendable.

But Aidan is a born survivor. And as he works his way deep into Zain’s shadowy world, he finds that nothing is as it seems. Zain is a mesmerizing, Gatsby-esque figure who lures young women into his orbit–women who have a bad habit of turning up dead. But is Zain really responsible? And will Isabelle be next?

Before long, Aidan finds himself in over his head, cut loose by his superiors, and dangerously attracted to the wrong woman.

How can he save the girl if he can’t even save himself?

Continue reading

Review: Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
Published by Random House Audio on September 9, 2014
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, dystopia, post-apocalyptic, science fiction
Format & Pages: audiobook
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

2014 National Book Award Finalist

A New York Times Bestseller

An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity.

One snowy night Arthur Leander, a famous actor, has a heart attack onstage during a production of King Lear. Jeevan Chaudhary, a paparazzo-turned-EMT, is in the audience and leaps to his aid. A child actress named Kirsten Raymonde watches in horror as Jeevan performs CPR, pumping Arthur’s chest as the curtain drops, but Arthur is dead. That same night, as Jeevan walks home from the theater, a terrible flu begins to spread. Hospitals are flooded and Jeevan and his brother barricade themselves inside an apartment, watching out the window as cars clog the highways, gunshots ring out, and life disintegrates around them.

Fifteen years later, Kirsten is an actress with the Traveling Symphony. Together, this small troupe moves between the settlements of an altered world, performing Shakespeare and music for scattered communities of survivors. Written on their caravan, and tattooed on Kirsten’s arm is a line from Star Trek:“Because survival is insufficient.” But when they arrive in St. Deborah by the Water, they encounter a violent prophet who digs graves for anyone who dares to leave.

Spanning decades, moving back and forth in time, and vividly depicting life before and after the pandemic, this suspenseful, elegiac novel is rife with beauty. As Arthur falls in and out of love, as Jeevan watches the newscasters say their final good-byes, and as Kirsten finds herself caught in the crosshairs of the prophet, we see the strange twists of fate that connect them all. A novel of art, memory, and ambition, Station Eleven tells a story about the relationships that sustain us, the ephemeral nature of fame, and the beauty of the world as we know it.

Continue reading

Review: Good Neighbors, by Joanne Serling

Good Neighbors, by Joanne Serling

Good Neighbors by Joanne Serling
Published by Twelve on February 6, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, contemporary
Format & Pages: paperback, 248
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

In an idyllic suburb, four young families quickly form a neighborhood clique, their friendships based on little more than the ages of their children and a shared sense of camaraderie. When one of the couples, Paige and Gene Edwards, adopt a four-year-old girl from Russia, the group’s loyalty and morality is soon called into question. Are the Edwards unkind to their new daughter? Or is she a difficult child with hidden destructive tendencies?

As the seams of the group friendship slowly unravel, neighbor Nicole Westerhof finds herself drawn further into the life of the adopted girl, forcing Nicole to re-examine the deceptive nature of her own family ties, and her complicity in the events unfolding around her.

Continue reading

Like This? Try That! Movie Edition #1

Like this? Try that! Movie Edition

Hi guys! This is the first in a new series of posts recommending specific books based on other books, movies, or TV shows. Since I am a huge movie fan (my best friend and I go see a new movie together every week), I thought it would be fun to start out with a movie edition! I included a range from backlist books to a new release, and each of the three recommendations is in an entirely different genre than the others. Hopefully that means you’ll find something you like!

Let’s just jump in, shall we?

Continue reading

January Reading Recap

January Reading Recap

January was a great month of books and reading! I managed to read nine books (a record for me), which were a good mix of review copies and books I’ve been excited to read for some time now. Starting the year out strong with two books I rated a full five out of five, I’m excited to see what the rest of 2018 has to bring!

Ready to see the list?

Continue reading

Author Q&A & Signed Book Giveaway: Rhiannon Navin, author of Only Child

Only Child, by Rhiannon Navin

I’m so excited to share this post with you today! ONLY CHILD was the first book I read in 2018 and it was such an amazing read. It moved me so much I couldn’t believe it was her debut novel! Click HERE for more details and my full review.

In honor of ONLY CHILD’s release next week, I’m sharing a Q&A with Rhiannon Navin on how she began writing, where her idea for the story came from, the type of research she did, and more. And don’t forget to scroll all the way to the bottom to enter the giveaway for a signed copy of ONLY CHILD!

Continue reading

Review: Surprise Me, by Sophie Kinsella

Surprise Me, by Sophie Kinsella

Surprise Me by Sophie Kinsella
Published by The Dial Press on February 13, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, contemporary, women’s fiction
Format & Pages: e-book, 448
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

#1 bestselling author Sophie Kinsella’s emotionally charged new standalone novel about marriage and family, and how those we love and know best can sometimes surprise us the most.

After being together for ten years, Sylvie and Dan have all the trimmings of a happy life and marriage; they have a comfortable home, fulfilling jobs, beautiful twin girls, and communicate so seamlessly, they finish each other’s sentences. However, a trip to the doctor projects they will live another 68 years together and panic sets in. They never expected “until death do us part” to mean seven decades.

In the name of marriage survival, they quickly concoct a plan to keep their relationship fresh and exciting: they will create little surprises for each other so that their (extended) years together will never become boring. But in their pursuit to execute Project Surprises, mishaps arise and secrets are uncovered that start to threaten the very foundation of their unshakable bond. When a scandal from the past is revealed that question some important untold truths, they begin to wonder if they ever really knew each other after all.

With a colorful, eccentric cast of characters, razor-sharp observations, and her signature wit and charm, Sophie Kinsella crafts a humorous, yet thoughtful portrait of a marriage and shines a light on the danger of not looking past the many layers of the ones you love to discover how infinitely fascinating–and surprising–they truly are.

Continue reading