Review: The Woman in the Window, by A.J. Finn

The Woman in the Window, by A.J. Finn

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn
Published by William Morrow on January 2, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, mystery, suspense, thriller
Format & Pages: e-book, 448
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

The Woman in the Window is the most riveting thriller I’ve read since Gone Girl. A. J. Finn is a bold new talent with the touch of a master.”— New York Times Bestselling Author Tess Gerritsen

The Woman in the Window is a tour de force. A twisting, twisted odyssey inside one woman’s mind, her illusions, delusions, reality. It left my own mind reeling and my heart pounding. An absolutely gripping thriller.”—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-five languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hithcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house. It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone?a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble?and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious, and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.


My recent string of reading debut novels that read much more maturely continues with The Woman in the Window!

It’s been a while since I’ve seen Hitchcock’s Rear Window, but this is clearly a tribute to that movie. Additionally, classic thrillers are not only mentioned throughout this novel but also play a role as plot device, which added some interesting dimension and complexity. As a movie lover, I also personally just really enjoyed seeing all of the movie references.

The writing style here was spot on. Finn painted a picture clearly without using extraneous words, and created a claustrophobic atmosphere to parallel Anna’s existence. While the first half of the book had me intrigued, I found myself able to easily dip in and out of the story without having a burning need to pick it up. After about the halfway mark, the suspense level increased to hold my attention more fully, and the last quarter had me staying up until early morning to finish it. (For what it’s worth, I do NOT recommend this; certain aspects of the ending kept me wide awake listening to all kinds of bumps in the night.)

There were several reveals and plot twists that unraveled throughout the course of The Woman in the Window. I guessed at some, but ultimately this wound up surprising me, which made for an overall entertaining and enjoyable experience. I’m an avid re-reader of my favorite books; although I don’t think I would pick this up time after time, I do think it would be quite interesting to re-read it now knowing the ending to see if I could pick up on any other clues the author may have planted.

Do you like classic mystery/suspense films? Then The Woman in the Window might be right up your alley!

*Thanks to William Morrow for providing an arc of this edition in exchange for an honest review.

4-b&w

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “Review: The Woman in the Window, by A.J. Finn

  1. Inge | The Belgian Reviewer says:

    I’m not acquainted with Hitchcock’s Rear Window or any of the other movie references so they went right over my head but I think that readers who actually get the references can certainly enjoy this addition. Like you, I really liked the ending more, once the answers start pouring in the story really steps up its game. It’s great to see we think so much alike ! Great review Nicole!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s