5 Hot Books to Read This Summer

5 hot books to read this summer

I don’t know about you, but I get excited for summer reading every year! Even when I was younger, I used to bring my school’s summer reading list to Barnes and Noble and proceed to stack them all together instead of picking the two or three that were required.

Summer reading means something different for every reader, though. In the following five selections there are a variety of styles and genres to choose from. Most have been previously published so if you’re a library lover it should be easy to get your hands on them!

Looking for a more comprehensive list of titles to choose from? Check out the 2018 Summer Reading Guides at Modern Mrs. Darcy and Sarah’s Book Shelves for even more options!

Ready to see my picks?

section separator

The Dry, by Jane Harper

Jane Harper’s debut The Dry follows Aaron Falk as he returns to his hometown in Australia to attend the funeral of his old friend Luke and is pulled into the investigation of Luke and his family’s death. The atmosphere created in this book is incredible, making the reader feel like they are in the hot barren Australian outback right along with the characters. Even if you guess the who in this suspenseful mystery, the why will keep readers guessing right up until the end.

dotted line separatorSomething Borrowed, by Emily Giffin

Something Borrowed is a contemporary chick-lit that follows Rachel, a young attorney living and working in Manhattan. While romance is a big part of this story, the major relationship explored is that between Rachel and her best friend, Darcy. With characters that are flawed but lovable and the majority of the book taking place over one summer, this makes great summer reading for fans of this genre. (If you’ve already read and enjoyed this, Giffin has a new book coming out June 26, All We Ever Wanted, that you may want to check out! Find it on Amazon or Barnes & Noble.)

dotted line separatorNothing Left to Burn, by Heather EzellNothing Left to Burn is quite literally hot as it takes place during a wildfire that sweeps through Orange County, California. This young adult coming of age story touches on some complex, tough issues including mental health and toxic relationships. However, these are nicely balanced with healthy relationships and lighter topics to make this easier to read.

dotted line separatorWorkman's Complication, by Rich Leder

Workman’s Complication is the story of off Broadway actress Kate who inherits her father’s PI business after he’s murdered. With a fast pace with plenty of plot twists, and a full cast of quirky characters, this was such a fun and entertaining read. It also takes place during the hot summer in New York City, setting a steamy atmosphere that surrounds the mystery.

dotted line separatorJar of Hearts, by Jennifer HillierJar of Hearts is hot as in, hot off the presses! Set to release June 12th, this dark thriller is intense and absolutely riveting. This isn’t a story for the faint of heart, dealing with some tough subjects and including brutal scenes involving rape and murder. But this is, without a doubt, one of the best thrillers I’ve read this year! If you’re in the mood for a dark thriller to read on the beach, definitely try this one out – especially recommended for fans of Lisa Gardner and Karin Slaughter.

section separatorThere you have my summer reading recommendations for 2018! I’d love to hear from you if any of these books are on your TBR or if you’ve already read them. If you’re a seasonal reader, what are your favorite books to read in the summer?

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “5 Hot Books to Read This Summer

  1. I follow an Australian blogger who read The Dry right when it came out and loved it, so I was familiar with the plot of this one. I don’t tend to change the type of reading I do in the summer, but I choose longer books because I have more time to read those novels in a reasonable amount of time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s