Book Review: Social Creature, by Tara Isabella Burton

Social Creature, by Tara Isabella Burton
Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

Published by Doubleday on June 5, 2018 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, contemporary, suspense, thriller

Format & Length: paperback, 273

Source: publisher via Goodreads giveaway

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.

They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them… They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste…

Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon.

Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship.

separator

Several days after having finished Social Creature, I still have a lot of mixed feelings about it that I’m having trouble putting into words. But I’m going to try.

The blurb for this book captured my attention immediately. But! If you haven’t read the blurb for this somewhere other than above – don’t! I removed a portion so as not to give away a big spoiler.

Upon starting Social Creature, the writing style continued to captivate me. Told in the third person limited, it almost read like a piece of journalism. Not only did I find this to be intriguing, but it also served the purpose to set some distance between myself and the characters while still being able to see the main character, Louise’s, thoughts. Which was a major factor as to how I could be so enthralled by a story that involved a plethora of drinking, drugs, sex, and otherwise deplorable behavior.

And that’s the thing. A lot of dark and twisted things happen within these pages. The characters act terribly but most have redeeming moments (as people do). Social Creature is not what I would call a “nice” book. But it fascinated me.

Given all that, I find it difficult to recommend Social Creature. If you like dark and twisted, by all means give this a shot. Otherwise, this may make you quite uncomfortable. Then again, it made me uncomfortable but I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.

4-b&w

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Social Creature, by Tara Isabella Burton

  1. It’s definitely dark and twisted! It’s like watching a train wreck and you can’t tear your eyes away! People behaved badly yet I couldn’t stop reading. I didn’t like any of the characters but I loved the book. Go figure 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s