Book Review: The Murder List, by Hank Phillippi Ryan

The Murder List, by Hank Phillippi Ryan

The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Published by Forge Books on August 20, 2019 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, suspense, thriller

Format & Length: e-book, 304

Source: Netgalley

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She’s smart, she’s a hard worker, she does the right thing, she’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston’s defense bar, and her internship with the Boston DA’s office is her ticket to a successful future.

Problem is–she’s wrong.

And in this cat and mouse game–the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.

section separator
A legal thriller with a psychological twist, The Murder List was a riveting read.

This follows Rachel North, defense attorney Jack Kirkland, and prosecutor Martha Gardiner in two different timelines. In the present, Rachel is married to Jack and is a law student interning with Martha for the summer. In the past, Rachel was a juror in a court case where Jack and Martha were opposing attorneys. Because of their history, these three characters stories are tangled thoroughly together and as lawyers, they are all schooled in the art of manipulation. As such, this book does an incredible job of making different characters seem sympathetic depending on the current perspective.

It’s entirely possibly I’ve simply read so many suspense and thriller novels recently that the twists in The Murder List didn’t surprise me in the least. I didn’t quite have that exhilarated feeling that is typical for the genre, which left me a bit underwhelmed. That being said, this is impeccably plotted and paced, unfolding at just the right rate to keep the reader firmly entrenched. And the writing style flows easily, making for easy reading.

Despite the lack of thrills that I felt, I did thoroughly enjoy the ride of reading The Murder List. This may have been the first book I’ve read by Hank Phillippi Ryan but it’s sure not to be the last!

*I received a free ARC of The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review.

4-b&w

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Murder List, by Hank Phillippi Ryan

  1. I’m getting just a little fatigued by novels that rely heavily on different timelines. Some of them work really well, but some it kind of feels the author had two stories in mind and has jammed them together

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s