3 Books to Read if You Like And Then There Were None

hall lined with books

And Then There Were None is one of my all time favorite mysteries, and it makes the list of my favorite books as well. I’ve ready plenty of mysteries (and plenty of Agatha Christie books) in my day, but this particular book stands out in my mind. Not only was this the first “closed room” mystery I recall reading, but it was also one of the first times I wasn’t able to guess whodunnit. And it blew my mind.

Clearly I’m not alone. First published in 1939, And Then There Were None has since sold over 100 million copies and is one of the best selling books of all time. It’s also inspired several adaptations over the years. As such, if you haven’t read this, chances are good you’ve heard of the title at one point or another.

This classic is one I’m constantly comparing new mysteries to. It takes a lot for a book to stand up to it, but I’ve read a few that do. The following three books all remind me of And Then There Were None in their own ways and also stand on their own as books that left a lasting impression in my mind.

Love these book lists? Sign up to get bonus reading lists!

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.
The Guest List, by Lucy Foley

Set on a remote island off the coast of Ireland, The Guest List is one that no one would want to be on. It follows several perspectives, all of whom are associated with the wedding of an attractive and up and coming couple, from the wedding planner to the bride’s best friend’s plus one to the wedding planner and more. Each of these characters has a reason to want one of their number dead, there are old secrets, and one of them is murdered. With excellent twists and an explosive ending, this mystery kept me guessing right up until the end.

dotted line separator
The Death of Mrs. Westaway, by Ruth Ware

The Death of Mrs. Westaway follows Hal as she receives a mysterious letter saying that her grandmother has died and she is an heir to the estate. She thinks it cannot actually be for her but really needs the money. When she goes to claim it, she discovers many secrets surrounding the estate and its family and wonders, is it really worth it? This mystery is steeped in gothic atmosphere that makes for a deliciously immersive reading experience.

dotted line separator
The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, by Stuart Turton

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a thoroughly unique and atmospheric mystery that is reminiscent of Groundhog Day. Tonight, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed. But she will not die just once. Aiden must solve her murder, or the day will repeat itself, over and over again. The only way to break the cycle is to identify the killer. But each time the day begins again, Aiden wakes in the body of a different guest. And someone is determined to prevent him. This mystery is a clever and original puzzle that is absolutely entertaining.

section separator

There you have three books to read if you liked And Then There Were None! I’d love to hear from you! Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

Pin this post…

3 Books to Read if You Like And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie

6 thoughts on “3 Books to Read if You Like And Then There Were None

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.