Review: Seven-Sided Spy, by Hannah Carmack

Seven-Sided Spy, by Hannah Carmack

Seven-Sided Spy by Hannah Carmack
Published by NineStar Press on January 15, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, action, historical fiction, science fiction, thriller
Format & Pages: e-book, 201
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

In the midst of the cold war, the CIA’s finest and most fatal female agent, Diana Riley, vanishes. Kidnapped by the KGB and taken to the backcountry of North Carolina, she and her team of unsavory partners are forced to undergo illegal experimentation.

But, when the experiments leave them horribly deformed and unable to reenter society without someone crying monster, the previously glamorous and high-maintenance spies must escape KGB captivity and avoid recapture at the hands of Nikola, a ruthless KGB agent with an intense and well-justified grudge against her former flame.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Mister Tender’s Girl, by Carter Wilson

Mister Tender's Girl, by Carter Wilson

Mister Tender’s Girl by Carter Wilson
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark on February 13, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, mystery, suspense, thriller
Format & Pages: e-book, 400
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

How far are you willing to go for Mister Tender?

At fourteen, Alice Hill was viciously attacked by two of her classmates and left to die. The teens claim she was a sacrifice for a man called Mister Tender, but that could never be true: Mister Tender doesn’t exist. His sinister character is pop-culture fiction, created by Alice’s own father in a series of popular graphic novels.

Over a decade later, Alice has changed her name and is trying to heal. But someone is watching her. They know more about Alice than any stranger could: her scars, her fears, and the secrets she keeps locked away. She can try to escape her past, but Mister Tender is never far behind. He will come with a smile that seduces, and a dark whisper in her ear…

Inspired by a true story, this gripping thriller plunges you into a world of haunting memories and unseen threats, leaving you guessing until the harrowing end.

Continue reading

Review: Only Child, by Rhiannon Navin

Only Child, by Rhiannon Navin

Only Child by Rhiannon Navin
Published by Knopf Publishing Group on February 6, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, contemporary
Format & Pages: e-book, 304
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

For readers of Room and The Girls, a dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children, narrated by a seven-year-old boy who reminds us that sometimes the littlest bodies hold the biggest hearts and the quietest voices speak the loudest.

Squeezed into a coat closet with his classmates and teacher, first grader Zach Taylor can hear gunshots ringing through the halls of his school. A gunman has entered the building, taking nineteen lives and irrevocably changing the very fabric of this close-knit community. While Zach’s mother pursues a quest for justice against the shooter’s parents, holding them responsible for their son’s actions, Zach retreats into his super-secret hideout and loses himself in a world of books and art. Armed with his newfound understanding, and with the optimism and stubbornness only a child could have, Zach sets out on a captivating journey towards healing and forgiveness, determined to help the adults in his life rediscover the universal truths of love and compassion needed to pull them through their darkest hours.

Continue reading

Top Five Bookish Goals for 2018

Top 5 Bookish Goals for 2018

Guys! Can you believe it’s 2018?! Me neither – I feel like every year goes by faster and faster. I recently saw this post Chelsea over at The Suspense is Thrilling Me wrote about her top five goals for 2018 and thought it was a fantastic way to ring in the new year! Although 2017 was a great year of books, reading, and blogging for me, there are some things I’d like to change up or do differently for the upcoming year.

Here are my bookish goals for 2018:

Continue reading

Top 10 Best Books I Read in 2017

Top 10 Books I Read in 2017

As 2017 comes to a close, I thought I’d wrap up the year with a list of my top 10 favorite books! Just to be clear, these are not necessarily books that were published in 2017, but those that I read for the first time in 2017.

That being said, picking this list was SO tough this year! Last year, I conveniently had 10 books that I rated a five out of five (not including rereads), which worked out perfectly. This year, there were more than 10 books that I rated a five, but after some serious consideration, I managed to whittle the list down. These represent a wide range of genres from action to contemporary and mystery to science fiction, which I didn’t exactly plan but makes sense based on my broad reading tastes. Hopefully that means there’s something on here for everyone!

Ready to see my choices?

Continue reading

December Reading Recap

December Reading Recap

This is my favorite season of the year (the Christmas season, that is, NOT winter!), and as always, December was a full month of celebrating the holidays with family and friends! Even still, I managed to read 8 books (one of which was a short story), so I’m calling it a win for reading as well. For the most part I stuck with the TBR I set for myself, but one book just didn’t work for me, and I received two advance copies that just demanded to be read immediately. One of my reading goals for 2018 is to finish the series that I started this year but have yet to complete! Someone please hold me accountable.

Ready to see the list?

Continue reading

Review: Naughty and Nice: A Holiday Romance Collection, by Various

Naughty and Nice, by Various

Naughty and Nice: A Holiday Romance Collection by Various
Published by Carina Press on December 6, 2010
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, romance
Format & Pages: e-book, 261
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble

‘Tis the Season for Romance

A famous singer reunites with an old flame. A couple explores their desire to be truly bound together. Newlyweds heat things up when they’re trapped indoors. And sparks fly when the lights go out. Whether you are naughty or nice, you can still get what you really want for Christmas in this collection of four seasonal shorts.

Anthology includes nice novellas:

Holiday Sparks by Shannon Stacey
All She Wants For Christmas by Jaci Burton

And naughty novellas:

Unwrapped by Megan Hart
Believe by Lauren Dane

Continue reading

Review: Before I Let Go, by Marieke Nijkamp

Before I Let Go, by Marieke Nijkamp

Before I Let Go by Marieke Nijkamp
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on January 2, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, mystery, suspense, young adult
Format & Pages: e-book, 368
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

From the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller This Is Where It Ends comes another unforgettable story of loss, hope, betrayal, and the quest for truth.

Best friends Corey and Kyra were inseparable in their snow-covered town of Lost Creek, Alaska. When Corey moves away, she makes Kyra promise to stay strong during the long, dark winter, and wait for her return.

Just days before Corey is to return home to visit, Kyra dies. Corey is devastated―and confused. The entire Lost community speaks in hushed tones about the town’s lost daughter, saying her death was meant to be. And they push Corey away like she’s a stranger.

Corey knows something is wrong. With every hour, her suspicion grows. Lost is keeping secrets―chilling secrets. But piecing together the truth about what happened to her best friend may prove as difficult as lighting the sky in an Alaskan winter…

Continue reading

Review: Environmentally Friendly, by Elias Zanbaka

Environmentally Friendly, by Elias Zanbaka

Environmentally Friendly by Elias Zanbaka
Published by E.Z. Entertainment on March 5, 2016
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, action, thriller
Format & Pages: e-book, 19
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at Amazon

Out of seven billion people, one man has declared war on Mother Nature and plans to bring it to its knees.

Out of all the criminals in Los Angeles, he’s the number one target being hunted by the LAPD tonight.

And out of the entire LAPD, one officer is hell-bent on helping him complete his mission.

Continue reading

Review: The Woman in the Window, by A.J. Finn

The Woman in the Window, by A.J. Finn

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn
Published by William Morrow on January 2, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, mystery, suspense, thriller
Format & Pages: e-book, 448
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

The Woman in the Window is the most riveting thriller I’ve read since Gone Girl. A. J. Finn is a bold new talent with the touch of a master.”— New York Times Bestselling Author Tess Gerritsen

The Woman in the Window is a tour de force. A twisting, twisted odyssey inside one woman’s mind, her illusions, delusions, reality. It left my own mind reeling and my heart pounding. An absolutely gripping thriller.”—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-five languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hithcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house. It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone?a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble?and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious, and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Continue reading