Like This? Try That! Movie Edition #2

Like this? Try that! Movie Edition

For this edition of Like This? Try That!, we’re going to talk about books you might enjoy if you liked certain movies. Today I’d like to focus on some older movies that have been out for at least ten years or more, all of which were big movies of their time, and recommend some newer books you might enjoy based on those movies. Each of these three recommendations is from a different genre, so I hope there’s something you’ll like from this list!

Ready to see my picks?

Continue reading “Like This? Try That! Movie Edition #2”

Advertisements

March Reading Wrap Up

March Reading Wrap UpMarch was a fairly middling month of reading for me. I completed eight books this month (not counting one book I didn’t finish) and most of what I read was average with a rating of a three, with one four star read, and ending strong with a five star read. I’m so glad to have ended March on a high note as I was starting to think I was on a streak of not picking the right books for me. That, combined with the weather finally starting to warm up, has me in a good mood with high hopes for what’s next!

Ready to see what I read and reviewed?

Continue reading “March Reading Wrap Up”

Book Review: The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley, by Hannah Tinti

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley, by Hannah Tinti

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Samuel Tinti

Published by Dial Press on March 28, 2017

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, contemporary

Format & Length: e-book, 416

Source: purchased

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

A father protects his daughter from the legacy of his past and the truth about her mother’s death in this thrilling new novel from the prize-winning author of The Good Thief.

After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter, Loo, to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife’s hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother’s mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past; a past that eventually spills over into his daughter’s present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. This father-daughter epic weaves back and forth through time and across America, from Alaska to the Adirondacks.

Both a coming-of-age novel and a literary thriller, The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley explores what it means to be a hero, and the cost we pay to protect the people we love most.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley, by Hannah Tinti”

Book Review: Little Darlings, by Melanie Golding

Little Darlings, by Melanie Golding

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

Published by Crooked Lane Books on April 30, 2019 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, thriller

Format & Length: e-book, 304

Source: Netgalley

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy’s The Perfect Mother.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley—to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking—and rechecking—your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

Continue reading “Book Review: Little Darlings, by Melanie Golding”

Book Review: Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

Published by Penguin Books on July 27, 1959 (originally published September 17, 1954)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, classics

Format & Length: e-book, 189

Source: library

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

At the dawn of the next world war, a plane crashes on an uncharted island, stranding a group of schoolboys. At first, with no adult supervision, their freedom is something to celebrate; this far from civilization the boys can do anything they want. Anything. They attempt to forge their own society, failing, however, in the face of terror, sin and evil. And as order collapses, as strange howls echo in the night, as terror begins its reign, the hope of adventure seems as far from reality as the hope of being rescued. Labeled a parable, an allegory, a myth, a morality tale, a parody, a political treatise, even a vision of the apocalypse, Lord of the Flies is perhaps our most memorable tale about “the end of innocence, the darkness of man’s heart.”

Continue reading “Book Review: Lord of the Flies, by William Golding”

5 Apps to Enhance Your Reading

5 Apps to Enhance Your Reading

I know there are many readers out there who only like to read print books. And I get it. There is something about the weight of the book and turning the pages that an electronic device just doesn’t have. But on the other hand, there is the incredible convenience factor of an e-reader in that you have access to so many books with just one lightweight device.

Today I’m taking this idea even a step further. Not only do I use (and love!) a nook, I also read on my phone quite a bit. And there are a variety of apps that I like to use. Of course, there are always the nook and kindle apps, which sync to your device if you have one, or you can even download to your phone for free without needing the actual device if you prefer. But in this post, I’d like to talk about five more specific apps that can enhance your reading life. (None of these are affiliate links in any way, they are all simply apps that I’ve used and liked personally.)

Ready to see them?

Continue reading “5 Apps to Enhance Your Reading”

Book Review: The Painted Veil, by W. Somerset Maugham

The Painted Veil, by W. Somerset Maugham

The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham

Published by Vintage International on February 10, 2004 (originally published April 1925)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, classics, historical fiction

Format & Length: paperback, 246

Source: purchased

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

Set in England and Hong Kong in the 1920s, The Painted Veil is the story of the beautiful but love-starved Kitty Fane. When her husband discovers her adulterous affair, he forces her to accompany him to the heart of a cholera epidemic. Stripped of the British society of her youth and the small but effective society she fought so hard to attain in Hong Kong, she is compelled by her awakening conscience to reassess her life and learn how to love.

The Painted Veil is a beautifully written affirmation of the human capacity to grow, to change, and to forgive.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Painted Veil, by W. Somerset Maugham”

Audiobook Review: My Brilliant Friend, by Elena Ferrante

My Brilliant Friend, by Elena Ferrante

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

Published by Blackstone Audio, Inc. on April 7, 2015 (originally published October 19, 2011)

Series: The Neapolitan Novels, #1

Genre(s): fiction, historical fiction

Format & Length: audiobook, 12:38:45

Source: library

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

A modern masterpiece from one of Italy’s most acclaimed authors, My Brilliant Friend is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted story about two friends, Elena and Lila, who represent the story of a nation and the nature of friendship.

The story begins in the 1950s in a poor but vibrant neighborhood on the outskirts of Naples. Growing up on these tough streets, the two girls learn to rely on each other ahead of anyone or anything else. As they grow – and as their paths repeatedly diverge and converge – Elena and Lila remain best friends whose respective destinies are reflected and refracted in the other. They are likewise the embodiments of a nation undergoing momentous change. Through the lives of these two women, Ferrante tells the story of a neighborhood, a city, and a country as it is transformed in ways that, in turn, also transform the relationship between her protagonists.

With My Brilliant Friend, the first in a series, Ferrante proves herself to be one of Italy’s greatest storytellers. She has given her readers a masterfully plotted pause-resister, abundant and generous in its narrative details and characterizations – a stylish work of literary fiction destined to delight her many fans and win new listeners to her work.

Continue reading “Audiobook Review: My Brilliant Friend, by Elena Ferrante”

Book Review: The Mother-In-Law, by Sally Hepworth

The Mother-In-Law, by Sally Hepworth

The Mother-In-Law by Sally Hepworth

Published by  St. Martin’s Press on April 23, 2019 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, mystery, suspense

Format & Length: e-book, 352

Source: Netgalley

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

A twisty, compelling novel about one woman’s complicated relationship with her mother-in-law that ends in murder…

From the moment Lucy met her husband’s mother, Diana, she was kept at arm’s length. Diana was exquisitely polite, and properly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice who helped female refugees assimilate to their new country. Diana was happily married to Tom, and lived in wedded bliss for decades. Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was five years ago.

Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer.

But the autopsy finds no cancer.
The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation.
Who could possibly want Diana dead?
Why was her will changed at the eleventh hour to disinherit both of her adult children and their spouses?

With Lucy’s secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex as the pages turn, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Mother-In-Law, by Sally Hepworth”

5 Contemporary Books to Read This Spring

5 Contemporary Books to Read This Spring

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; I’m something of a seasonal mood reader. But that doesn’t mean that every season prompts the same mood. This particular season, as winter is slowly coming to a close, I’m feeling partial to picking up a good contemporary book.

Today, I’d like to share five contemporary novels that I love recommending for a variety of reasons. Some of these are lighter in tone and some deal with more serious themes. But they all stuck with me after finishing. These are all backlist books, published in 2018 or earlier, and are arranged from most recent release to the oldest. I hope at least one of them will work for you!

Ready to see my picks?

Continue reading “5 Contemporary Books to Read This Spring”