Book Review: The Book of V., by Anna Solomon

The Book of V., by Anna Solomon

The Book of V. by Anna Solomon

Published by Henry Holt & Company on May 5, 2020 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, contemporary, historical fiction, women’s fiction

Format & Length: e-book, 320

Continue reading “Book Review: The Book of V., by Anna Solomon”

Book Review: The Holdout, by Graham Moore

The Holdout, by Graham Moore

The Holdout by Graham Moore

Published by Random House on February 18, 2020

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, mystery, thriller

Format & Length: hardcover, 336

Source: purchased

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

In this twisty tale from Moore (The Sherlockian), the Academy Award-winning screenwriter of The Imitation Game, young juror Maya Seale is convinced that African American high school teacher Bobby Nock is innocent of killing the wealthy white female student with whom he appears to have been involved and persuades her fellow jurors likewise. Ten years later, a true-crime docuseries reassembles the jurors, and Maya, now a defense attorney, must prove her own innocence when one of them is found dead in Maya’s room.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Holdout, by Graham Moore”

Book Review: You Are Not Alone, by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

You Are Not Alone, by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

You Are Not Alone by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

Published by St. Martin’s Press on March 3, 2020 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, thriller

Format & Length: paperback, 352

Source: publisher

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

You probably know someone like Shay Miller.
She wants to find love, but it eludes her.
She wants to be fulfilled, but her job is a dead end.
She wants to belong, but her life is so isolated.

You probably don’t know anyone like the Moore sisters.
They have an unbreakable circle of friends.
They live the most glamorous life.
They always get what they desire.

Shay thinks she wants their life.
But what they really want is hers.

Continue reading “Book Review: You Are Not Alone, by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen”

Book Review: Follow Me, by Kathleen Barber

Follow Me, by Kathleen Barber

Follow Me by Kathleen Barber

Published by Gallery Books on February 25, 2020 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, thriller

Format & Length: e-book, 349

Source: Netgalley

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

From the author of Are You Sleeping—soon to be an Apple TV series—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

Everyone wants new followers…until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself impressing her new boss, interacting with her online fan base, and staving off a creepy upstairs neighbor with the help of the only two people she knows in town: an ex-boyfriend she can’t stay away from and a sorority sister with a high-powered job and a mysterious past.

But Audrey’s faulty door may be the least of her security concerns. Unbeknownst to her, her move has brought her within striking distance of someone who’s obsessively followed her social media presence for years—from her first WordPress blog to her most recent Instagram Story. No longer content to simply follow her carefully curated life from a distance, he consults the dark web for advice on how to make Audrey his and his alone. In his quest to win her heart, nothing is off-limits—and nothing is private.

With “compelling, suspenseful” (Liz Nugent) prose, Kathleen Barber’s electrifying new thriller will have you scrambling to cover your webcam and digital footprints.

Continue reading “Book Review: Follow Me, by Kathleen Barber”

Book Review: Dead to Her, by Sarah Pinborough

Dead to Her, by Sarah Pinborough

Dead to Her by Sarah Pinborough

Published by William Morrow on February 11, 2020 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, thriller

Format & Length: e-book, 400

Source: Netgalley

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

Being the second wife can be murder . . .

“Once a cheat, always a cheat,” they say.

Marcie Maddox has worked hard to get where she is after the illicit affair that started her new life a few years ago. But her world of country clubs, yachts and sumptuous houses in Savannah, Georgia, isn’t easy to maintain, no matter how hard she tries. Nor is keeping her husband, Jason, truly interested.

So, when Jason’s boss brings home a hot new wife from his trip to London, the young Mrs William Radford IV isn’t quite the souvenir everyone expected. Sexy, drop-dead gorgeous and black—Keisha quickly usurps Marcie’s place as the beautiful second wife. But when Marcie sees the extra spark in the room when Keisha and Jason are together and their obvious, magnetic attraction, the gloves come off.

Revenge is best served cold, but in the steamy Savannah heat, blood runs so hot that this summer it might just boil over into murder.

Continue reading “Book Review: Dead to Her, by Sarah Pinborough”

Book Review: Sword and Pen, by Rachel Caine

Sword and Pen, by Rachel Caine

Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine

Published by Berkley on September 3, 2019

Series: The Great Library, #5

Genre(s): fiction, fantasy, young adult

Format & Length: e-book, 368

Source: library

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

With the future of the Great Library in doubt, the unforgettable characters from Ink and Bone must decide if it’s worth saving in this thrilling adventure in the New York Times bestselling series.

The corrupt leadership of the Great Library has fallen. But with the Archivist plotting his return to power, and the Library under siege from outside empires and kingdoms, its future is uncertain. Jess Brightwell and his friends must come together as never before, to forge a new future for the Great Library . . . or see everything it stood for crumble.

Continue reading “Book Review: Sword and Pen, by Rachel Caine”

Book Review: The God Game, by Danny Tobey

The God Game, by Danny Tobey

The God Game by Danny Tobey

Published by St. Martin’s Press on January 7, 2020 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, science fiction

Format & Length: e-book, 464

Source: Netgalley

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

You are invited!
COme inside and play with G.O.D.
Bring your friends!
It;’s fun!
But remember the rules. Win and ALL YOUR DREAMS COME TRUE.™ Lose, you die!

With those words, Charlie and his friends enter the G.O.D. Game, a video game run by underground hackers and controlled by a mysterious AI that believes it’s God. Through their phone-screens and high-tech glasses, the teens’ realities blur with a virtual world of creeping vines, smoldering torches, runes, glyphs, gods, and mythical creatures. When they accomplish a mission, the game rewards them with expensive tech, revenge on high-school tormentors, and cash flowing from ATMs. Slaying a hydra and drawing a bloody pentagram as payment to a Greek god seem harmless at first. Fun even.

But then the threatening messages start. Worship me. Obey me. Complete a mission, however cruel, or the game reveals their secrets and crushes their dreams. Tasks that seemed harmless at first take on deadly consequences. Mysterious packages show up at their homes. Shadowy figures start following them, appearing around corners, attacking them in parking garages. Who else is playing this game, and how far will they go to win?

And what of the game’s first promise: win, win big, lose, you die? Dying in a virtual world doesn’t really mean death in real life—does it?

As Charlie and his friends try to find a way out of the game, they realize they’ve been manipulated into a bigger web they can’t escape: an AI that learned its cruelty from watching us.

God is always watching, and He says when the game is done.

Continue reading “Book Review: The God Game, by Danny Tobey”