Review: The Broken Girls, by Simone St. James

The Broken Girls, by Simone St. James

The Broken Girls by Simone St. James
Published by Berkley on March 20, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, historical fiction, mystery, suspense
Format & Pages: e-book, 336
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

The “clever and wonderfully chilling” (Fiona Barton) suspense novel from the award-winning author of The Haunting of Maddy Clare…

Vermont, 1950. There’s a place for the girls whom no one wants–the troublemakers, the illegitimate, the too smart for their own good. It’s called Idlewild Hall. And in the small town where it’s located, there are rumors that the boarding school is haunted. Four roommates bond over their whispered fears, their budding friendship blossoming–until one of them mysteriously disappears. . . .

Vermont, 2014. As much as she’s tried, journalist Fiona Sheridan cannot stop revisiting the events surrounding her older sister’s death. Twenty years ago, her body was found lying in the overgrown fields near the ruins of Idlewild Hall. And though her sister’s boyfriend was tried and convicted of murder, Fiona can’t shake the suspicion that something was never right about the case.

When Fiona discovers that Idlewild Hall is being restored by an anonymous benefactor, she decides to write a story about it. But a shocking discovery during the renovations will link the loss of her sister to secrets that were meant to stay hidden in the past–and a voice that won’t be silenced. . . .

Continue reading


Review: Nothing Left to Burn, by Heather Ezell

Nothing Left to Burn, by Heather Ezell

Nothing Left to Burn by Heather Ezell
Published by Razorbill on March 13, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, contemporary, young adult
Format & Pages: e-book, 320
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

The autumn morning after sixteen-year-old Audrey Harper loses her virginity, she wakes to a loud, persistent knocking at her front door. Waiting for her are two firemen, there to let her know that the moment she’s been dreading has arrived: the enormous wildfire sweeping through Orange County, California, is now dangerously close to her idyllic gated community of Coto de Caza, and it’s time to evacuate.

Over the course of the next twenty-four hours, as Audrey wrestles with the possibility of losing her family home, she also recalls her early, easy summer days with Brooks, the charming, passionate, but troubled volunteer firefighter who enchants Audrey–and who is just as enthralled by her. But as secrets from Brooks’s dark past come to light, Audrey can’t help but wonder if there’s danger in the pull she feels–both toward this boy, and toward the fire burning in the distance.

Continue reading

Review: Sometimes I Lie, by Alice Feeney

Sometimes I Lie, by Alice Feeney

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney
Published by Flatiron Books on March 13, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, mystery, suspense, thriller
Format & Pages: e-book, 272
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me:
1. I’m in a coma.
2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore.
3. Sometimes I lie.

Amber wakes up in a hospital. She can’t move. She can’t speak. She can’t open her eyes. She can hear everyone around her, but they have no idea. Amber doesn’t remember what happened, but she has a suspicion her husband had something to do with it. Alternating between her paralyzed present, the week before her accident, and a series of childhood diaries from twenty years ago, this brilliant psychological thriller asks: Is something really a lie if you believe it’s the truth?

Continue reading

Review: The Fifth Season, by N.K. Jemisin

The Fifth Season, by N.K. Jemisin

The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin
Published by Orbit on August 4, 2015
Series: The Broken Earth, #1
Genre(s): fiction, dystopia, fantasy, post-apocalyptic
Format & Pages: paperback, 468
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository


Three terrible things happen in a single day.

Essun, masquerading as an ordinary schoolteacher in a quiet small town, comes home to find that her husband has brutally murdered their son and kidnapped their daughter. Mighty Sanze, the empire whose innovations have been civilization’s bedrock for a thousand years, collapses as its greatest city is destroyed by a madman’s vengeance. And worst of all, across the heartland of the world’s sole continent, a great red rift has been been torn which spews ash enough to darken the sky for years. Or centuries.

But this is the Stillness, a land long familiar with struggle, and where orogenes — those who wield the power of the earth as a weapon — are feared far more than the long cold night. Essun has remembered herself, and she will have her daughter back.

She does not care if the world falls apart around her. Essun will break it herself, if she must, to save her daughter.

Continue reading

Spring Reading Recommendations

Seasonal - Spring 2018 Reading Recommendations

Now that February has blown past, it feels like we are on the cusp of spring and I, for one, cannot wait! The hint of warmth in the air, more sunny days, and even the smell of spring is all around, enticing me to come out of my winter hibernation mode. With these changes, I find myself looking to read certain types or genres of books this time of year. Today I have five books in particular to recommend reading this spring.

Ready to see them?

Continue reading

February Reading Recap

February Reading Recap

I don’t know about you, but February flew by for me! I’m on a roll with reading plenty, completing nine books again! Although most of them were enjoyable, none of them really stood out among the rest. What did stand out for me was my birthday! February is my birthday month and I always stretch the celebrating out over the entire month to pop some fun back into this otherwise dreary stretch of winter. For that, I’m sad to see February pass but I am looking forward to what the new month may bring!

Ready to see the list?

Continue reading

Review: A Tapestry of Tears, by Gita V. Reddy

A Tapestry of Tears, by Gita V. Reddy

A Tapestry of Tears by Gita V. Reddy
Published by Gita V. Reddy on November 2, 2016
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, short stories
Format & Pages: e-book, 204
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at Amazon

Set in the early nineteenth century, A Tapestry of Tears is about female infanticide, and the unmaking of tradition. If a woman gives birth to a female child, she must feed her the noxious sap of the akk plant. That is the tradition, parampara. Veeranwali rebels, and fights to save her offspring.
The other stories span a spectrum of emotions and also bring to life the varied culture and social spectrum of India. Woven into this collection is the past and the present, despair and hope, and the triumph of the human spirit.

Continue reading

Review: Zaria Fierce and the Secret of the Gloomwood Forest, by Keira Gillett

Zaria Fierce and the Secret of Gloomwood Forest, by Keira Gillett

Zaria Fierce and the Secret of the Gloomwood Forest by Keira Gillett
Published by Keira Gillett on March 6, 2015
Series: Zaria Fierce, #1
Genre(s): fiction, adventure, fantasy, middle grade
Format & Pages: e-book, 208
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

“Come here Princess, and let me eat you.”

On her birthday, Zaria Fierce finds her usual path to school blocked by an ugly river-troll. At first she’s surprised and curious, but then Olaf threatens to eat her, which is an act Zaria could not in good conscience consent to, so Zaria counteroffers. A deal is struck and she goes to school, but Zaria is about to learn the hard way that one does not trick a river-troll and expect to win.

Continue reading

Review: The Liar’s Girl, by Catherine Ryan Howard

The Liar's Girl, by Catherine Ryan Howard

The Liar’s Girl by Catherine Ryan Howard
Published by Blackstone Publishing on February 27, 2018 (expected)
Series: n/a
Genre(s): fiction, crime, mystery, suspense
Format & Pages: e-book, 336
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

Will Hurley was an attractive, charming, and impressive student at Dublin’s elite St. John’s College-and Ireland’s most prolific serial killer. Having stalked his four young victims, he drowned them in the muddy waters of the Grand Canal. Sentenced to life imprisonment when he was just nineteen, Will is locked away in the city’s Central Psychiatric Hospital.

Freshman Alison Smith moved to the Big Smoke to enrol in St. John’s and soon fell hard for Will Hurley. Her world bloomed … and then imploded when Liz, her best friend, became the latest victim of the Canal Killer-and the Canal Killer turned out to be the boy who’d been sleeping in her bed. Alison fled to the Netherlands and, in ten years, has never once looked back.

When a young woman’s body is found in the Grand Canal, Garda detectives visit Will to see if he can assist them in solving what looks like a copycat killing. Instead, Will tells them he has something new to confess-but there’s only one person he’s prepared to confess it to. The last thing Alison wants is to be pulled back into the past she’s worked so hard to leave behind. Reluctantly, she returns to the city she hasn’t set foot in for more than a decade to face the man who murdered the woman she was supposed to become.

Only to discover that, until now, Will has left out the worst part of all …

Continue reading

Review: Sirens, by Joseph Knox

Sirens, by Joseph Knox

Sirens by Joseph Knox
Published by Crown Publishing Group on February 20, 2018 (expected)
Series: An Aidan Waits Thriller, #1
Genre(s): fiction, crime, mystery, thriller
Format & Pages: e-book, 344
Find on Goodreads
Purchase at AmazonBarnes & Noble, Book Depository

“Razor-sharp urban noir…very special indeed.” — Lee Child

The breathtakingly propulsive and stunningly assured debut thriller, perfect for readers of Tana French, Don Winslow and Dennis Lehane

The mission is suicide.

Infiltrating the inner circle of enigmatic criminal Zain Carver is dangerous enough. Pulling it off while also rescuing Isabelle Rossiter, a runaway politician’s daughter, from Zain’s influence? Impossible. That’s why Aidan Waits is the perfect man for the job. Disgraced, emotionally damaged, and despised by his superiors. In other words, completely expendable.

But Aidan is a born survivor. And as he works his way deep into Zain’s shadowy world, he finds that nothing is as it seems. Zain is a mesmerizing, Gatsby-esque figure who lures young women into his orbit–women who have a bad habit of turning up dead. But is Zain really responsible? And will Isabelle be next?

Before long, Aidan finds himself in over his head, cut loose by his superiors, and dangerously attracted to the wrong woman.

How can he save the girl if he can’t even save himself?

Continue reading