Mini Reviews: Nonfiction – From the Corner of the Oval, by Beck Dorey-Stein & Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child, by Marc Weissbluth, M.D.

Mini reviews - nonfiction

For this set of mini reviews, I want to talk about some nonfiction books I’ve read fairly recently. Although both nonfiction, these are very different in their subgenres, one being a memoir and the other a self-help/parenting book. I had mixed feelings on both of these, but each are worth a read for their own reasons.

Ready to see the reviews?

Continue reading “Mini Reviews: Nonfiction – From the Corner of the Oval, by Beck Dorey-Stein & Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child, by Marc Weissbluth, M.D.”

How Do You Track Your Reading?

How do you track your reading_The new year is a time known for reflecting on the past twelve months and setting new resolutions for the upcoming year. As this past year came to a close, I began considering what was working for me and what wasn’t, specifically in regards to tracking my reading.
Continue reading “How Do You Track Your Reading?”

Book Review: Sword and Pen, by Rachel Caine

Sword and Pen, by Rachel Caine

Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine

Published by Berkley on September 3, 2019

Series: The Great Library, #5

Genre(s): fiction, fantasy, young adult

Format & Length: e-book, 368

Source: library

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

With the future of the Great Library in doubt, the unforgettable characters from Ink and Bone must decide if it’s worth saving in this thrilling adventure in the New York Times bestselling series.

The corrupt leadership of the Great Library has fallen. But with the Archivist plotting his return to power, and the Library under siege from outside empires and kingdoms, its future is uncertain. Jess Brightwell and his friends must come together as never before, to forge a new future for the Great Library . . . or see everything it stood for crumble.

Continue reading “Book Review: Sword and Pen, by Rachel Caine”

Book Review: The Wives, by Tarryn Fisher

The Wives, by Tarryn Fisher

The Wives by Tarryn Fisher

Published by Graydon House on December 30, 2019

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, suspense, thriller

Format & Length: hardcover, 320

Source: purchased

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

Imagine that your husband has two other wives.

You’ve never met the other wives. None of you know each other, and because of this unconventional arrangement, you can see your husband only one day a week. But you love him so much you don’t care. Or at least that’s what you’ve told yourself.

But one day, while you’re doing laundry, you find a scrap of paper in his pocket—an appointment reminder for a woman named Hannah, and you just know it’s another of the wives.

You thought you were fine with your arrangement, but you can’t help yourself: you track her down, and, under false pretenses, you strike up a friendship. Hannah has no idea who you really are. Then, Hannah starts showing up to your coffee dates with telltale bruises, and you realize she’s being abused by her husband. Who, of course, is also your husband. But you’ve never known him to be violent, ever.

Who exactly is your husband, and how far would you go to find the truth? Would you risk your own life?

And who is his mysterious third wife?

Continue reading “Book Review: The Wives, by Tarryn Fisher”

Book Review: Things in Jars, by Jess Kidd

Things in Jars, by Jess Kidd

Things in Jars by Jess Kidd

Published by Atria Books on February 4, 2020 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, historical fiction, magical realism, mystery

Format & Length: e-book, 384

Source: Netgalley

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery—perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.

Bridie Devine—female detective extraordinaire—is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery.

Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won’t rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she’d rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems.

Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.

Continue reading “Book Review: Things in Jars, by Jess Kidd”

9 Books I’m Excited to Read in 2020

9 Books I'm Excited to Read in 2020

Happy 2020! To ring in the new year, today I want to share some of the books I’m excited for in the upcoming months.

This list is VERY heavy on thrillers, a handful of which are from authors I’ve read and loved before. And the remaining thrillers just sound so interesting! There is one contemporary novel and one young adult fantasy to round out the list.

Regardless of genre, I have high hopes for all of these books! Ready to see them?

Continue reading “9 Books I’m Excited to Read in 2020”

December (& 2019) Reading Wrap Up

December 2019 Reading Wrap UpChristmas is my favorite season and I especially savored it this year as it was baby’s first Christmas. Even if he won’t be able to remember it, I really tried to take each moment as it came and enjoy all of the firsts! Much of what I recall from this past month is baby related, but I did read a handful of books that I enjoyed and wanted to mention.

Today I also want to revisit my list of the books I was anticipating most for 2019 to see which I actually read, what worked, and what didn’t.

Click on through to see everything I reviewed, read, and wrote in December, along with a follow up of how my most anticipated books for 2019 worked for me.

Continue reading “December (& 2019) Reading Wrap Up”

6 Best New Books I Read in 2019

6 Best New Books I Read in 2019

Merry Christmas! (And Happy Holidays to anyone who celebrates any other holiday this season!)

As the year comes to a close, I’m excited to share my favorite books that I read in 2019! Last week I posted a list of the 6 best backlist books I read. But today I’d like to talk about the 6 best new releases I read in 2019.

There is something of a theme in this list, as I read a whole slew of books about books this year and more than one slid easily onto my favorites list. They are all unique, though, with different bookish spins. And rounding out the list are a fantasy and science fiction thriller. Surprisingly, there are no mysteries on this list! What is even real anymore?

Anyway, ready to see the books?

Continue reading “6 Best New Books I Read in 2019”

Book Review: The God Game, by Danny Tobey

The God Game, by Danny Tobey

The God Game by Danny Tobey

Published by St. Martin’s Press on January 7, 2020 (expected)

Series: n/a

Genre(s): fiction, science fiction

Format & Length: e-book, 464

Source: Netgalley

Find on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

You are invited!
COme inside and play with G.O.D.
Bring your friends!
It;’s fun!
But remember the rules. Win and ALL YOUR DREAMS COME TRUE.™ Lose, you die!

With those words, Charlie and his friends enter the G.O.D. Game, a video game run by underground hackers and controlled by a mysterious AI that believes it’s God. Through their phone-screens and high-tech glasses, the teens’ realities blur with a virtual world of creeping vines, smoldering torches, runes, glyphs, gods, and mythical creatures. When they accomplish a mission, the game rewards them with expensive tech, revenge on high-school tormentors, and cash flowing from ATMs. Slaying a hydra and drawing a bloody pentagram as payment to a Greek god seem harmless at first. Fun even.

But then the threatening messages start. Worship me. Obey me. Complete a mission, however cruel, or the game reveals their secrets and crushes their dreams. Tasks that seemed harmless at first take on deadly consequences. Mysterious packages show up at their homes. Shadowy figures start following them, appearing around corners, attacking them in parking garages. Who else is playing this game, and how far will they go to win?

And what of the game’s first promise: win, win big, lose, you die? Dying in a virtual world doesn’t really mean death in real life—does it?

As Charlie and his friends try to find a way out of the game, they realize they’ve been manipulated into a bigger web they can’t escape: an AI that learned its cruelty from watching us.

God is always watching, and He says when the game is done.

Continue reading “Book Review: The God Game, by Danny Tobey”

6 Best Backlist Books I Read in 2019

6 Best Backlist Books I Read in 2019

For the past couple years, I’ve shared my top 10 books from the year, whether overall in 2017 or split into backlist and new releases in 2018. Each time I had a handful of five star reads and would have to fill out the list by selecting my favorite four star books. But this year, I decided to keep it just to the books I rated a full five out of five. Because why share anything but the best?

So today I’m sharing the six best backlist books I read in 2019 (not including those that were re-reads). They were all still published fairly recently, the oldest one from 2014. Which possibly speaks to the fact that I read more newer books this year than older ones, and is something I’d like to balance out better for 2020. But that’s a post for another day.

Ready to see the six best backlist books I read this year?

Continue reading “6 Best Backlist Books I Read in 2019”